CMS Medicare enrollment · June 2026
North Carolina Medicare Enrollment
State and county enrollment from CMS, including Original Medicare, Medicare Advantage and Other Health Plans, and Part D coverage.
Informational only. These enrollment counts do not compare plans or provide medical, financial, or enrollment advice.
North Carolina enrollment figures
- Total Medicare enrollment
- 2.3M
- Original Medicare
- 978.7K
- MA & Other share
- 57.9%
- Part D coverage
- 81.6%
2,322,851
978,674 beneficiaries
CMS combined delivery-system measure
1,896,580 beneficiaries
County enrollment
101 CMS county rows for North Carolina. Unavailable values remain marked as not reported rather than estimated.
| County | Total | Original Medicare | MA & Other | MA & Other share | Part D share |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Alamance County | 38,836 | 11,375 | 27,461 | 70.7% | 85.7% |
| Alexander County | 8,926 | 2,948 | 5,978 | 67% | 85.7% |
| Alleghany County | 3,838 | 1,650 | 2,188 | 57% | 84% |
| Anson County | 5,734 | 1,934 | 3,800 | 66.3% | 85.1% |
| Ashe County | 8,747 | 4,385 | 4,362 | 49.9% | 84.5% |
| Avery County | 5,138 | 2,509 | 2,629 | 51.2% | 83.2% |
| Beaufort County | 14,777 | 6,602 | 8,175 | 55.3% | 82.1% |
| Bertie County | 5,592 | 2,351 | 3,241 | 58% | 83.9% |
| Bladen County | 8,200 | 2,732 | 5,468 | 66.7% | 81.5% |
| Brunswick County | 68,380 | 37,975 | 30,405 | 44.5% | 82.3% |
| Buncombe County | 67,316 | 34,622 | 32,694 | 48.6% | 81.7% |
| Burke County | 22,984 | 8,226 | 14,758 | 64.2% | 84.4% |
| Cabarrus County | 40,431 | 15,096 | 25,335 | 62.7% | 82.7% |
| Caldwell County | 20,955 | 6,866 | 14,089 | 67.2% | 86% |
| Camden County | 2,450 | 1,585 | 865 | 35.3% | 67.8% |
| Carteret County | 21,990 | 12,618 | 9,372 | 42.6% | 75.2% |
| Caswell County | 5,733 | 1,751 | 3,982 | 69.5% | 85.8% |
| Catawba County | 39,938 | 15,275 | 24,663 | 61.8% | 84.6% |
| Chatham County | 21,500 | 9,931 | 11,569 | 53.8% | 84.5% |
| Cherokee County | 11,141 | 5,327 | 5,814 | 52.2% | 80.3% |
| Chowan County | 4,461 | 2,432 | 2,029 | 45.5% | 79.1% |
| Clay County | 4,772 | 2,603 | 2,169 | 45.5% | 80% |
| Cleveland County | 25,284 | 9,353 | 15,931 | 63% | 84.5% |
| Columbus County | 13,859 | 5,574 | 8,285 | 59.8% | 82.2% |
| Craven County | 28,469 | 16,625 | 11,844 | 41.6% | 72.7% |
| Cumberland County | 61,628 | 26,181 | 35,447 | 57.5% | 64.4% |
| Currituck County | 7,349 | 4,905 | 2,444 | 33.3% | 68.2% |
| Dare County | 11,384 | 8,345 | 3,039 | 26.7% | 78.5% |
| Davidson County | 39,588 | 10,570 | 29,018 | 73.3% | 87.1% |
| Davie County | 12,127 | 3,975 | 8,152 | 67.2% | 85.8% |
| Duplin County | 11,442 | 4,890 | 6,552 | 57.3% | 78.9% |
| Durham County | 56,542 | 27,314 | 29,228 | 51.7% | 81.2% |
| Edgecombe County | 13,247 | 4,641 | 8,606 | 65% | 84.5% |
| Forsyth County | 85,382 | 27,321 | 58,061 | 68% | 85.4% |
| Franklin County | 16,739 | 7,094 | 9,645 | 57.6% | 81.2% |
| Gaston County | 49,733 | 18,090 | 31,643 | 63.6% | 84.2% |
| Gates County | 2,859 | 1,590 | 1,269 | 44.4% | 75.7% |
| Graham County | 2,330 | 1,009 | 1,321 | 56.7% | 81.2% |
| Granville County | 13,090 | 5,310 | 7,780 | 59.4% | 82% |
| Greene County | 4,032 | 1,569 | 2,463 | 61.1% | 81.9% |
| Guilford County | 112,346 | 33,008 | 79,338 | 70.6% | 85.7% |
| Halifax County | 14,227 | 5,172 | 9,055 | 63.6% | 84.2% |
| Harnett County | 24,109 | 10,263 | 13,846 | 57.4% | 75.8% |
| Haywood County | 19,555 | 9,001 | 10,554 | 54% | 80.3% |
| Henderson County | 37,466 | 19,751 | 17,715 | 47.3% | 81.6% |
| Hertford County | 5,743 | 2,419 | 3,324 | 57.9% | 83.5% |
| Hoke County | 8,452 | 3,337 | 5,115 | 60.5% | 66.7% |
| Hyde County | 1,302 | 587 | 715 | 54.9% | 81.9% |
| Iredell County | 42,083 | 16,952 | 25,131 | 59.7% | 83.6% |
| Jackson County | 9,528 | 4,769 | 4,759 | 49.9% | 81.2% |
| Johnston County | 41,428 | 17,341 | 24,087 | 58.1% | 80.3% |
| Jones County | 3,030 | 1,361 | 1,669 | 55.1% | 77% |
| Lee County | 15,533 | 6,896 | 8,637 | 55.6% | 77.6% |
| Lenoir County | 15,377 | 6,539 | 8,838 | 57.5% | 80.7% |
| Lincoln County | 23,607 | 10,054 | 13,553 | 57.4% | 84.4% |
| Macon County | 12,854 | 6,985 | 5,869 | 45.7% | 80% |
| Madison County | 6,399 | 2,740 | 3,659 | 57.2% | 82.6% |
| Martin County | 6,667 | 2,657 | 4,010 | 60.1% | 84.3% |
| Mcdowell County | 12,456 | 4,552 | 7,904 | 63.5% | 82.7% |
| Mecklenburg County | 168,730 | 75,633 | 93,097 | 55.2% | 82.5% |
| Mitchell County | 4,613 | 2,020 | 2,593 | 56.2% | 82.8% |
| Montgomery County | 6,711 | 2,394 | 4,317 | 64.3% | 84.4% |
| Moore County | 29,867 | 14,574 | 15,293 | 51.2% | 80% |
| Nash County | 24,677 | 10,195 | 14,482 | 58.7% | 82.2% |
| New Hanover County | 55,183 | 30,072 | 25,111 | 45.5% | 80.8% |
| Northampton County | 5,702 | 2,267 | 3,435 | 60.2% | 82.8% |
| Onslow County | 33,299 | 18,237 | 15,062 | 45.2% | 63.8% |
| Orange County | 29,144 | 14,502 | 14,642 | 50.2% | 82.1% |
| Pamlico County | 4,548 | 2,562 | 1,986 | 43.7% | 77.8% |
| Pasquotank County | 9,805 | 5,373 | 4,432 | 45.2% | 72.6% |
| Pender County | 15,722 | 7,534 | 8,188 | 52.1% | 80% |
| Perquimans County | 4,486 | 2,557 | 1,929 | 43% | 74.8% |
| Person County | 10,537 | 4,008 | 6,529 | 62% | 85.4% |
| Pitt County | 35,252 | 15,289 | 19,963 | 56.6% | 80.1% |
| Polk County | 7,357 | 4,189 | 3,168 | 43.1% | 79.8% |
| Randolph County | 32,391 | 7,988 | 24,403 | 75.3% | 87.9% |
| Richmond County | 10,772 | 3,672 | 7,100 | 65.9% | 83% |
| Robeson County | 27,135 | 7,216 | 19,919 | 73.4% | 82.8% |
| Rockingham County | 25,343 | 5,889 | 19,454 | 76.8% | 87.7% |
| Rowan County | 33,888 | 11,302 | 22,586 | 66.6% | 82.6% |
| Rutherford County | 17,592 | 7,273 | 10,319 | 58.7% | 82.9% |
| Sampson County | 13,673 | 4,950 | 8,723 | 63.8% | 80.3% |
| Scotland County | 8,408 | 2,713 | 5,695 | 67.7% | 82.6% |
| Stanly County | 16,011 | 5,771 | 10,240 | 64% | 85% |
| Stokes County | 12,494 | 3,411 | 9,083 | 72.7% | 87.3% |
| Surry County | 19,622 | 5,801 | 13,821 | 70.4% | 85.9% |
| Swain County | 4,120 | 2,247 | 1,873 | 45.5% | 76.4% |
| Transylvania County | 11,017 | 5,419 | 5,598 | 50.8% | 83.5% |
| Tyrrell County | 897 | 458 | 439 | 48.9% | 83.6% |
| Union County | 43,244 | 20,263 | 22,981 | 53.1% | 82.3% |
| Unknown | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Vance County | 10,981 | 3,416 | 7,565 | 68.9% | 83.9% |
| Wake County | 192,017 | 91,506 | 100,511 | 52.3% | 81.4% |
| Warren County | 5,233 | 2,047 | 3,186 | 60.9% | 81% |
| Washington County | 3,580 | 1,577 | 2,003 | 55.9% | 84.3% |
| Watauga County | 10,112 | 5,123 | 4,989 | 49.3% | 82.4% |
| Wayne County | 26,213 | 11,145 | 15,068 | 57.5% | 73.5% |
| Wilkes County | 18,495 | 5,458 | 13,037 | 70.5% | 87.5% |
| Wilson County | 19,306 | 7,940 | 11,366 | 58.9% | 82.8% |
| Yadkin County | 9,746 | 2,506 | 7,240 | 74.3% | 88% |
| Yancey County | 5,843 | 2,644 | 3,199 | 54.7% | 80.7% |
Source and interpretation
CMS Medicare Monthly Enrollment, June 2026, published 2026-09-23. “MA & Other” retains the official combined CMS field label.
- CMS suppresses some small counts with an asterisk; suppressed values remain null in this snapshot.
- Medicare Advantage and Other Health Plans is the CMS-published combined measure and is not limited to Medicare Advantage alone.
- Enrollment counts describe a reporting month and do not compare plan benefits, provider networks, quality, or personal costs.