CMS Medicare enrollment · June 2026
South Dakota Medicare Enrollment
State and county enrollment from CMS, including Original Medicare, Medicare Advantage and Other Health Plans, and Part D coverage.
Informational only. These enrollment counts do not compare plans or provide medical, financial, or enrollment advice.
South Dakota enrollment figures
- Total Medicare enrollment
- 206.5K
- Original Medicare
- 132.8K
- MA & Other share
- 35.7%
- Part D coverage
- 76.3%
206,509
132,835 beneficiaries
CMS combined delivery-system measure
157,527 beneficiaries
County enrollment
67 CMS county rows for South Dakota. Unavailable values remain marked as not reported rather than estimated.
| County | Total | Original Medicare | MA & Other | MA & Other share | Part D share |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Aurora County | 652 | 436 | 216 | 33.1% | 79.1% |
| Beadle County | 4,040 | 2,320 | 1,720 | 42.6% | 81% |
| Bennett County | 519 | 465 | 54 | 10.4% | 63.4% |
| Bon Homme County | 1,683 | 1,089 | 594 | 35.3% | 80% |
| Brookings County | 6,077 | 3,393 | 2,684 | 44.2% | 82.5% |
| Brown County | 8,646 | 6,152 | 2,494 | 28.8% | 80.4% |
| Brule County | 1,273 | 895 | 378 | 29.7% | 79.8% |
| Buffalo County | 209 | 189 | 20 | 9.6% | 50.7% |
| Butte County | 2,816 | 1,690 | 1,126 | 40% | 72.7% |
| Campbell County | 439 | 314 | 125 | 28.5% | 80.9% |
| Charles Mix County | 1,965 | 1,473 | 492 | 25% | 76.3% |
| Clark County | 903 | 437 | 466 | 51.6% | 84.9% |
| Clay County | 2,308 | 1,532 | 776 | 33.6% | 81.9% |
| Codington County | 6,753 | 3,496 | 3,257 | 48.2% | 81% |
| Corson County | 595 | 462 | 133 | 22.4% | 66.2% |
| Custer County | 3,679 | 2,575 | 1,104 | 30% | 71.9% |
| Davison County | 4,889 | 3,018 | 1,871 | 38.3% | 81.2% |
| Day County | 1,666 | 1,084 | 582 | 34.9% | 79.5% |
| Deuel County | 1,055 | 578 | 477 | 45.2% | 80.9% |
| Dewey County | 913 | 817 | 96 | 10.5% | 52% |
| Douglas County | 819 | 581 | 238 | 29.1% | 81.7% |
| Edmunds County | 974 | 714 | 260 | 26.7% | 85.2% |
| Fall River County | 2,998 | 2,232 | 766 | 25.6% | 65.8% |
| Faulk County | 599 | 452 | 147 | 24.5% | 83% |
| Grant County | 2,157 | 1,000 | 1,157 | 53.6% | 84.2% |
| Gregory County | 1,231 | 978 | 253 | 20.6% | 80.4% |
| Haakon County | 598 | 506 | 92 | 15.4% | 78.1% |
| Hamlin County | 1,263 | 692 | 571 | 45.2% | 81.3% |
| Hand County | 900 | 763 | 137 | 15.2% | 82.3% |
| Hanson County | 1,049 | 648 | 401 | 38.2% | 77.4% |
| Harding County | 312 | 255 | 57 | 18.3% | 74% |
| Hughes County | 3,830 | 3,039 | 791 | 20.7% | 76.4% |
| Hutchinson County | 1,913 | 1,186 | 727 | 38% | 80.3% |
| Hyde County | 365 | 252 | 113 | 31% | 79.5% |
| Jackson County | 490 | 372 | 118 | 24.1% | 64.7% |
| Jerauld County | 589 | 427 | 162 | 27.5% | 79.8% |
| Jones County | 259 | 219 | 40 | 15.4% | 75.3% |
| Kingsbury County | 1,583 | 1,084 | 499 | 31.5% | 80.5% |
| Lake County | 2,899 | 1,915 | 984 | 33.9% | 81.7% |
| Lawrence County | 8,553 | 5,478 | 3,075 | 36% | 75.2% |
| Lincoln County | 12,736 | 7,164 | 5,572 | 43.8% | 79.8% |
| Lyman County | 732 | 590 | 142 | 19.4% | 68.9% |
| Marshall County | 1,181 | 787 | 394 | 33.4% | 80.1% |
| Mccook County | 1,387 | 775 | 612 | 44.1% | 80.2% |
| Mcpherson County | 703 | 526 | 177 | 25.2% | 82.2% |
| Meade County | 6,708 | 4,541 | 2,167 | 32.3% | 67.6% |
| Mellette County | 360 | 300 | 60 | 16.7% | 67.8% |
| Miner County | 652 | 437 | 215 | 33% | 82.5% |
| Minnehaha County | 41,075 | 23,273 | 17,802 | 43.3% | 77.6% |
| Moody County | 1,461 | 979 | 482 | 33% | 76.5% |
| Oglala Lakota County | 1,425 | 1,354 | 71 | 5% | 45.8% |
| Pennington County | 30,259 | 20,667 | 9,592 | 31.7% | 69.2% |
| Perkins County | 872 | 673 | 199 | 22.8% | 77.2% |
| Potter County | 704 | 596 | 108 | 15.3% | 80.4% |
| Roberts County | 2,231 | 1,466 | 765 | 34.3% | 72.7% |
| Sanborn County | 618 | 407 | 211 | 34.1% | 80.7% |
| Spink County | 1,660 | 1,209 | 451 | 27.2% | 83.5% |
| Stanley County | 805 | 634 | 171 | 21.2% | 73% |
| Sully County | 359 | 291 | 68 | 18.9% | 77.4% |
| Todd County | 988 | 924 | 64 | 6.5% | 53% |
| Tripp County | 1,399 | 1,169 | 230 | 16.4% | 78.7% |
| Turner County | 2,110 | 1,039 | 1,071 | 50.8% | 82.6% |
| Union County | 3,921 | 2,626 | 1,295 | 33% | 79.2% |
| Unknown | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Walworth County | 1,523 | 1,195 | 328 | 21.5% | 75.9% |
| Yankton County | 5,975 | 3,835 | 2,140 | 35.8% | 81.9% |
| Ziebach County | 204 | 170 | 34 | 16.7% | 56.9% |
Source and interpretation
CMS Medicare Monthly Enrollment, June 2026, published 2026-09-23. “MA & Other” retains the official combined CMS field label.
- CMS suppresses some small counts with an asterisk; suppressed values remain null in this snapshot.
- Medicare Advantage and Other Health Plans is the CMS-published combined measure and is not limited to Medicare Advantage alone.
- Enrollment counts describe a reporting month and do not compare plan benefits, provider networks, quality, or personal costs.