CMS Medicare enrollment · June 2026
Virginia Medicare Enrollment
State and county enrollment from CMS, including Original Medicare, Medicare Advantage and Other Health Plans, and Part D coverage.
Informational only. These enrollment counts do not compare plans or provide medical, financial, or enrollment advice.
Virginia enrollment figures
- Total Medicare enrollment
- 1.8M
- Original Medicare
- 1.1M
- MA & Other share
- 39.5%
- Part D coverage
- 74.4%
1,756,307
1,062,042 beneficiaries
CMS combined delivery-system measure
1,307,379 beneficiaries
County enrollment
134 CMS county rows for Virginia. Unavailable values remain marked as not reported rather than estimated.
| County | Total | Original Medicare | MA & Other | MA & Other share | Part D share |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Accomack County | 10,306 | 6,221 | 4,085 | 39.6% | 78.1% |
| Albemarle County | 25,348 | 19,589 | 5,759 | 22.7% | 79.2% |
| Alexandria City | 21,105 | 14,802 | 6,303 | 29.9% | 65.9% |
| Alleghany County | 4,101 | 2,552 | 1,549 | 37.8% | 82.9% |
| Amelia County | 3,640 | 2,025 | 1,615 | 44.4% | 81.9% |
| Amherst County | 8,617 | 4,856 | 3,761 | 43.6% | 82.5% |
| Appomattox County | 4,484 | 2,630 | 1,854 | 41.3% | 82.1% |
| Arlington County | 28,436 | 20,065 | 8,371 | 29.4% | 65.5% |
| Augusta County | 19,174 | 12,944 | 6,230 | 32.5% | 81.2% |
| Bath County | 1,438 | 1,053 | 385 | 26.8% | 81.9% |
| Bedford County | 23,176 | 14,366 | 8,810 | 38% | 81.6% |
| Bland County | 1,820 | 999 | 821 | 45.1% | 81.2% |
| Botetourt County | 9,667 | 5,960 | 3,707 | 38.3% | 81.1% |
| Bristol City | 4,373 | 1,593 | 2,780 | 63.6% | 84.5% |
| Brunswick County | 4,373 | 2,202 | 2,171 | 49.6% | 81.6% |
| Buchanan County | 6,821 | 2,371 | 4,450 | 65.2% | 86.2% |
| Buckingham County | 3,896 | 2,093 | 1,803 | 46.3% | 81.1% |
| Buena Vista City | 1,606 | 910 | 696 | 43.3% | 80.8% |
| Campbell County | 13,172 | 7,345 | 5,827 | 44.2% | 83.2% |
| Caroline County | 6,996 | 3,977 | 3,019 | 43.2% | 74.5% |
| Carroll County | 8,410 | 5,020 | 3,390 | 40.3% | 81.6% |
| Charles City County | 2,040 | 1,085 | 955 | 46.8% | 79% |
| Charlotte County | 3,553 | 2,003 | 1,550 | 43.6% | 81.9% |
| Charlottesville City | 7,596 | 5,335 | 2,261 | 29.8% | 80.2% |
| Chesapeake City | 48,080 | 29,058 | 19,022 | 39.6% | 66.6% |
| Chesterfield County | 76,346 | 46,967 | 29,379 | 38.5% | 78.7% |
| Clarke County | 4,249 | 2,944 | 1,305 | 30.7% | 74.6% |
| Colonial Heights City | 4,688 | 2,860 | 1,828 | 39% | 72.9% |
| Covington City | 2,133 | 1,115 | 1,018 | 47.7% | 81.8% |
| Craig County | 1,378 | 789 | 589 | 42.7% | 80% |
| Culpeper County | 11,788 | 7,836 | 3,952 | 33.5% | 75.3% |
| Cumberland County | 2,330 | 1,273 | 1,057 | 45.4% | 80% |
| Danville City | 12,269 | 5,070 | 7,199 | 58.7% | 86% |
| Dickenson County | 4,542 | 1,245 | 3,297 | 72.6% | 84.8% |
| Dinwiddie County | 5,936 | 3,325 | 2,611 | 44% | 78.2% |
| Emporia City | 1,293 | 543 | 750 | 58% | 83.9% |
| Essex County | 3,410 | 1,978 | 1,432 | 42% | 80.6% |
| Fairfax City | 6,020 | 3,878 | 2,142 | 35.6% | 69% |
| Fairfax County | 185,846 | 126,576 | 59,270 | 31.9% | 65.3% |
| Falls Church City | 2,858 | 2,004 | 854 | 29.9% | 67.6% |
| Fauquier County | 15,363 | 11,078 | 4,285 | 27.9% | 71.2% |
| Floyd County | 4,534 | 2,743 | 1,791 | 39.5% | 81.6% |
| Fluvanna County | 7,444 | 5,106 | 2,338 | 31.4% | 77.7% |
| Franklin City | 2,638 | 1,365 | 1,273 | 48.3% | 82.4% |
| Franklin County | 16,210 | 8,887 | 7,323 | 45.2% | 83.5% |
| Frederick County | 21,330 | 14,270 | 7,060 | 33.1% | 75.3% |
| Fredericksburg City | 4,978 | 3,120 | 1,858 | 37.3% | 73.2% |
| Galax City | 2,527 | 1,409 | 1,118 | 44.2% | 83% |
| Giles County | 4,697 | 2,679 | 2,018 | 43% | 84% |
| Gloucester County | 10,682 | 7,004 | 3,678 | 34.4% | 71.9% |
| Goochland County | 8,214 | 5,666 | 2,548 | 31% | 82.7% |
| Grayson County | 4,552 | 2,644 | 1,908 | 41.9% | 82.3% |
| Greene County | 5,003 | 3,408 | 1,595 | 31.9% | 76.3% |
| Greensville County | 2,551 | 1,106 | 1,445 | 56.6% | 83.3% |
| Halifax County | 10,263 | 5,829 | 4,434 | 43.2% | 82% |
| Hampton City | 28,413 | 14,533 | 13,880 | 48.9% | 67.6% |
| Hanover County | 26,865 | 17,203 | 9,662 | 36% | 81.6% |
| Harrisonburg City | 7,393 | 4,927 | 2,466 | 33.4% | 81.9% |
| Henrico County | 67,732 | 40,126 | 27,606 | 40.8% | 81.4% |
| Henry County | 13,835 | 6,343 | 7,492 | 54.2% | 86.4% |
| Highland County | 928 | 650 | 278 | 30% | 80.8% |
| Hopewell City | 5,219 | 2,581 | 2,638 | 50.5% | 75.2% |
| Isle Of Wight County | 10,602 | 6,564 | 4,038 | 38.1% | 74% |
| James City County | 26,582 | 18,976 | 7,606 | 28.6% | 71.3% |
| King And Queen County | 1,976 | 1,148 | 828 | 41.9% | 79.6% |
| King George County | 5,141 | 3,601 | 1,540 | 30% | 63.2% |
| King William County | 4,276 | 2,615 | 1,661 | 38.8% | 81.1% |
| Lancaster County | 4,996 | 3,398 | 1,598 | 32% | 79.5% |
| Lee County | 6,319 | 1,861 | 4,458 | 70.5% | 84% |
| Lexington City | 2,179 | 1,444 | 735 | 33.7% | 79% |
| Loudoun County | 54,850 | 36,762 | 18,088 | 33% | 68.5% |
| Louisa County | 10,328 | 6,421 | 3,907 | 37.8% | 78.4% |
| Lunenburg County | 3,060 | 1,634 | 1,426 | 46.6% | 81.5% |
| Lynchburg City | 17,300 | 9,238 | 8,062 | 46.6% | 82.8% |
| Madison County | 3,819 | 2,550 | 1,269 | 33.2% | 78.3% |
| Manassas City | 5,800 | 3,505 | 2,295 | 39.6% | 71.5% |
| Manassas Park City | 1,361 | 740 | 621 | 45.6% | 68.1% |
| Martinsville City | 5,368 | 2,063 | 3,305 | 61.6% | 86.7% |
| Mathews County | 3,160 | 2,166 | 994 | 31.5% | 78.4% |
| Mecklenburg County | 10,008 | 5,464 | 4,544 | 45.4% | 82.2% |
| Middlesex County | 4,199 | 2,679 | 1,520 | 36.2% | 79.9% |
| Montgomery County | 15,603 | 10,106 | 5,497 | 35.2% | 81.8% |
| Nelson County | 5,487 | 3,623 | 1,864 | 34% | 78.7% |
| New Kent County | 7,038 | 4,633 | 2,405 | 34.2% | 74.4% |
| Newport News City | 32,963 | 16,653 | 16,310 | 49.5% | 70.1% |
| Norfolk City | 38,189 | 19,085 | 19,104 | 50% | 71.8% |
| Northampton County | 4,438 | 2,464 | 1,974 | 44.5% | 83% |
| Northumberland County | 5,050 | 3,378 | 1,672 | 33.1% | 77.8% |
| Norton City | 1,173 | 386 | 787 | 67.1% | 84.9% |
| Nottoway County | 3,846 | 2,113 | 1,733 | 45.1% | 80.8% |
| Orange County | 11,040 | 7,086 | 3,954 | 35.8% | 75.4% |
| Page County | 6,754 | 4,230 | 2,524 | 37.4% | 80% |
| Patrick County | 5,699 | 2,993 | 2,706 | 47.5% | 84% |
| Petersburg City | 9,285 | 3,678 | 5,607 | 60.4% | 78.6% |
| Pittsylvania County | 16,251 | 8,235 | 8,016 | 49.3% | 84.6% |
| Poquoson City | 2,985 | 2,231 | 754 | 25.3% | 62.5% |
| Portsmouth City | 19,200 | 9,349 | 9,851 | 51.3% | 73% |
| Powhatan County | 7,599 | 5,129 | 2,470 | 32.5% | 80.8% |
| Prince Edward County | 5,415 | 2,917 | 2,498 | 46.1% | 80.7% |
| Prince George County | 6,684 | 4,477 | 2,207 | 33% | 67.9% |
| Prince William County | 65,948 | 41,647 | 24,301 | 36.8% | 63.8% |
| Pulaski County | 9,123 | 4,893 | 4,230 | 46.4% | 82.1% |
| Radford City | 2,694 | 1,549 | 1,145 | 42.5% | 82.1% |
| Rappahannock County | 2,223 | 1,615 | 608 | 27.4% | 74.8% |
| Richmond City | 35,840 | 16,741 | 19,099 | 53.3% | 82.9% |
| Richmond County | 2,217 | 1,351 | 866 | 39.1% | 81.9% |
| Roanoke City | 22,063 | 10,646 | 11,417 | 51.7% | 81.2% |
| Roanoke County | 25,478 | 15,726 | 9,752 | 38.3% | 82.5% |
| Rockbridge County | 6,256 | 4,133 | 2,123 | 33.9% | 77.8% |
| Rockingham County | 19,415 | 13,245 | 6,170 | 31.8% | 81.4% |
| Russell County | 7,855 | 2,763 | 5,092 | 64.8% | 86.9% |
| Salem City | 7,150 | 4,323 | 2,827 | 39.5% | 81.3% |
| Scott County | 6,672 | 1,945 | 4,727 | 70.8% | 87.5% |
| Shenandoah County | 11,967 | 7,648 | 4,319 | 36.1% | 78.9% |
| Smyth County | 8,493 | 3,954 | 4,539 | 53.4% | 84.2% |
| Southampton County | 4,212 | 2,535 | 1,677 | 39.8% | 79.6% |
| Spotsylvania County | 27,902 | 17,900 | 10,002 | 35.8% | 67.9% |
| Stafford County | 23,557 | 16,228 | 7,329 | 31.1% | 59.9% |
| Staunton City | 7,566 | 4,856 | 2,710 | 35.8% | 81.4% |
| Suffolk City | 20,862 | 12,203 | 8,659 | 41.5% | 71% |
| Surry County | 1,985 | 1,091 | 894 | 45% | 78.4% |
| Sussex County | 2,685 | 1,329 | 1,356 | 50.5% | 80% |
| Tazewell County | 11,579 | 4,988 | 6,591 | 56.9% | 82% |
| Unknown | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Virginia Beach City | 87,966 | 56,603 | 31,363 | 35.7% | 63.2% |
| Warren County | 9,859 | 6,186 | 3,673 | 37.3% | 74.8% |
| Washington County | 15,967 | 7,272 | 8,695 | 54.5% | 83.8% |
| Waynesboro City | 6,265 | 3,890 | 2,375 | 37.9% | 80.9% |
| Westmoreland County | 5,929 | 3,799 | 2,130 | 35.9% | 74.8% |
| Williamsburg City | 2,356 | 1,612 | 744 | 31.6% | 74.2% |
| Winchester City | 5,978 | 3,893 | 2,085 | 34.9% | 77.8% |
| Wise County | 10,580 | 3,215 | 7,365 | 69.6% | 82.3% |
| Wythe County | 8,545 | 4,097 | 4,448 | 52.1% | 83.3% |
| York County | 14,411 | 10,436 | 3,975 | 27.6% | 59.6% |
Source and interpretation
CMS Medicare Monthly Enrollment, June 2026, published 2026-09-23. “MA & Other” retains the official combined CMS field label.
- CMS suppresses some small counts with an asterisk; suppressed values remain null in this snapshot.
- Medicare Advantage and Other Health Plans is the CMS-published combined measure and is not limited to Medicare Advantage alone.
- Enrollment counts describe a reporting month and do not compare plan benefits, provider networks, quality, or personal costs.